Personal sized apple crisp

Okay so I know it’s not fall. Yet I’m posting an apple crisp recipe (gasp). Apples are good any damn time of the year. I also feel less guilty for eating this since it has fruit and oatmeal in it, that’s a healthy breakfast right?

I didn’t have a pan at the time I was craving apple crisp so I used muffin tins instead. The results? Just as yummy apple crisp in individual sized portions.

Individual Apple Crisp

Individual Apple Crisp

Apple Crisp

  • 6-8 apples, peeled cored and cut into 1-inch sized pieces. I use gala or honeycrisp apples, sometimes throw a few granny smith in there to keep things interesting
  • 1 1/2 cups white flour, can substitute 1/2 cup of wheat flour if you’re feeling dangerous
  • 1 1/2 cup oats
  • 4 tbsp softened butter or margarine
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon plus 1/2 tsp
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar plus 1 tbsp

1. Mix up your dry ingredients in a large bowl

2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease your muffin tins

3. Toss apples with 1 tbsp of brown sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon

4.Evenly divide apples into each hole in a muffin tin. Mine made 6 large muffins, but I’ve also made this in a 12 smaller muffin tin.

5. Cut butter into dry ingredients then layer onto apples.

6. Bake for 30 mins or until apples are tender!

The bigger muffin pans might take a little longer to cook. I covered mine with tin foil for the first 20 mins and then uncovered them and baked for 15 mins more so the top of the crisp wouldn’t burn.

 

 

 

Tell me what ya think!

